the importance of different sciences?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-09-2014, 07:40 AM
the importance of different sciences?
I am currently studying Astrophysics with a focus on cosmology. I hold the belief that this is the most important field of science(I am obviously very biased here). Through physics and astronomy, we can answer a lot of the big questions in life. We can truly understand our place in the cosmos, we may find out if we are not alone, and we can understand how we truly came to be. Also, physics is the description of how everything works. To me, it feels like I am studying the truth of reality. I have a very good friend who is studying Human Biology. The importance of her field is fairly self explanatory, but I still feel like there is intrinsic value in the study of the universe. She thinks my head is too far in the clouds. That my science is important, but it's not nearly as important as applied sciences. I want to hear what do you all think. Is applied sciences the most important to humanity? Or is there a larger importance in understanding our true origins? This topic has created some very interesting discussions for us, so I hope in creates some interesting discussions here. Smile
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
22-09-2014, 09:24 AM
RE: the importance of different sciences?